New Mercies

The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases;
his mercies never come to an end;
they are new every morning;
great is your faithfulness.

Today is my last day of full-time commitment at San Diego. Though I will be back on weekends, my priority and focus will be in Los Angeles.

Recently, I’ve been waking up with old wounds feeling bittersweet and fresh. Earlier this weekend, I scraped my shin off during practice. It’s a daily exercise to go about my business without pain shooting up my leg upon contact. It’s also been a daily exercise to go about my business while pain shoots up my heart from past scars.

Life is hard. There are days when joy is inexpressible and fills my entire being. But there have been days when I’ve been filled with a morose spirit.

In one of those dour days, a friend looked at me while I was sour and offered to buy me lunch. I looked back and accepted it. Still in my personal pity party, I zoned out and it barely registered that I got free lunch.

I ate that juicy burrito, I suddenly realized that the entire time I’ve been moping, God has given me the simple things in life to rejoice over.

Desires and feelings of unmet self-perceived needs are what kills a joyful spirit. Yet it was God kissing me in my face with His unending grace.

Reminders of His steadfastness and kindness strengthen me to fight on and fight hard. The simple things are reminders of our Savior’s lavish love and faithfulness. The hard things are reminders that this life is not home but there is eternity to long for.

Life is serious. Every day has worries. Wounds can reopen. Yet every day has new mercies to overcome daily worries.

Though weeping may last for the night, joy comes in the morning. Time heals all wounds, even those that reopen. The night will end. The dawn will come. The sun will rise.

Today is the last day, but tomorrow is the start of newer days to come. +MK

Leave a Reply

