I sure may

We often know so much more than we obey

During the car ride from NYC to DC, we were chatting about how it is often the case for many who has grown a significant understanding of the Bible. When you think about how much you know of God’s Word and compare that to how much of it you actually obey, you see how much we still lack and fail as ambassadors of Christ.

It humbles me to the deepest level.

I sure may proudly proclaim the prince of peace but if true reconciliation and peacemaking is not a priority in my life in all my relationships, then I have failed in every respect as a follower of Christ.

I sure may spend countless hours in devoted times of service & ministry to others and give all my freedoms away but if true love for God & for people is absent in my heart, then I have only succeeded in being a clanging gong.

I sure may read the word of God all I want but if a particular person in my life “causes” me to stumble and sin, then what have I truly got to show that the word of God is in me? People don’t cause me to sin. I cause me to sin.

I sure may say I serve the church for the sake of the Lord of peace but if I do not cultivate peace in my relationships with a pure heart, then I may be lying to myself about my true allegiance.

It doesn’t matter if I can give convincing arguments for the faith if my very life argues against it.

I need to truly live out the knowledge that was given to me.

I sure may not like it. But it does mean that

I need to die to myself and depend on God in order to truly incarnate my Savior in my life.

Consider this.. personally, what does true dependence on the Lord specifically look like, in the light of your knowledge of Scripture?

One thought on “I sure may

  1. “When you think about how much you know of God’s Word and compare that to how much of it you actually obey, you see how much we still lack and fail as ambassadors of Christ.” I can’t agree more. Thanks for sharing your thoughts once again. Hope you’re having a fun and safe trip at NYC!

Leave a Reply

