Mutterings and Comments

Sensibility is the overarching quality that a young man must exhibit.

How often I hear those words and fail to heed it.

The other day, a man muttered in front of me, “he’ll grow up one day.”
Another time ago, a woman commented on my overreaction as an occurrence that needs to stop.

Whether these were said out of jest or spite, I cannot say. Nevertheless, words are something that I remember too well and carry with me in my heart.

I make a good practice out of dramatizing things, but in the end, is that the most sensible thing for me to do?

For better or worse, the near silent mutterings and comments are what echoes forth and bring new challenges to my heart.

Therefore,
this verse and the principality of sensibility surface in my mind:

And the tongue is a fire, a world of unrighteousness. The tongue is set among our members, staining the whole body, setting on fire the entire course of life, and set on fire by hell. For every kind of beast and bird, of reptile and sea creature, can be tamed and has been tamed by mankind, but no human being can tame the tongue. It is a restless evil, full of deadly poison.

If a person’s outward expression of joy is enough to stumble another, what good is that expression of joy? And one must consider, was it truly joy that had been expressed or was it something else, if that joy be marred by the fear of others?

Leave a Reply

