prosperity

I remember hearing that the test of poverty can break people.
But the test of prosperity is where many people fail.

Looking back, I am seeing that when things seem to be “good” is when I tend to backslide and slip up on what I know.

It does say in Proverbs that the fool says “a little rest, a little longer” and then poverty overcomes him like a thief. And how can I ever forget in the end of 1 corinthians when Paul tells them to “be watchful, stand firm in the faith, act like men, be strong.” [If there is a verse that tells people to “man up”, then this is it].

But how to keep all this? What to answer for all this? For even Isaiah 64:6 says that my best days are absolutely filthy!!!
A verse flows in my mind’s eye.
And I turn to one of the most obscure books in the Bible: Jude.

“Now to him who is able to keep you from stumbling and to present you blameless before the presence of his glory with great joy,…”
-Jude 24

In the end, after receiving the call to persevere, it is ultimately NOT up to us. But it is Jesus Christ who will ultimately keep his sheep from stumbling! In the end, GOD will complete the good work in us. (Ref Phil 1:6)

We have responsibilities, but just as those responsibilities are God-given, the strength to follow and completion of them are also God-given.

I’m constantly reminded that I do need Jesus as Lord and Savior, on my best and worst days.

Leave a Reply

