Indignant

“Be angry and do not sin; do not let the sun go down on your anger” -Ephesians 4:26

I realize that I get angry.

Why? Well, I find myself becoming more discontent with the status quo.

Knowing truth can be painful: anything less than my best feels unacceptable, but even in my best days I deserve hellfire. Learning more and more of my own sinfulness can be backbreaking; as if to add more to my plate, I’m seeing more and more of how my own sinfulness affects others. I claim to know the love of Christ and yet I still fumble around with my words & end up hurting others. I may have the best of intentions and people still get hurt by my failings. One word may slip here and I end up deteriorating a relationship that took months to cultivate.

I see this, along knowing the sinful state of others and what they are doing. And I can’t help but acknowledge how gracious God is. And how flawed we are.

The way things are is enough to make me indignant. I don’t like failing. I don’t like hurting others/being hurt.

But in the middle of my anger, I lose sight & become puffed. My anger does not justify my foolishness. A while back, I was conversing with a dear friend and I shared a little bit of my anger & discontent with the way things are. Yet, she asks me, “Does that give you the right to change me?”

She humbled me with that statement and I found my response wanting.

I later shared a quote: “Hope has two beautiful daughters. Their names are anger and courage; anger at the way things are, and courage to see that they do not remain the way they are.”

Hope is active behind all this. Anger pricks us and makes us notice things amiss. Courage drives us and motivates us to fight for what we hope for. We have hope, which births anger and courage; hope reminds us to not become too hot-headed or rash. Hope harnesses indignant energy and channels it towards a destination. Hope gives us direction and maintains focus. It is the eye of the storm.

I get indignant over my sinfulness and past failings. But I take heart and have courage because I know that the greatest King was killed and resurrected so that I can have hope.

We, followers of King Jesus, have all the reason in the world to have hope; be propelled in the light of His vision and MOVE FORWARD.

+Michael K

edit (7/28/10): As for her response..

no, i don’t have the right to change her. That should be obvious.

But I do have the right to change me 🙂

Leave a Reply

