stretched thin

Being stretched thin is never a good feeling.

You wake up, only to feel exhausted and more tired than ever before. Then, you roll out of your bed with the drowsy cloud over your mind. The rest of the day carries on, with barely any recall of how it all went down.

then, you come back to bed, only to repeat this whole process.

At some point, we gotta consider if this is even good. How can I minister to others if my own personal devotion is being compromised?

I wake up, and rush over to meet another’s need,… and in the process, I completely neglect my personal devotion to my Lord. There is obviously something wrong with this picture.

It takes a level of humility to understand that we cannot do everything we want to do. When the LORD commanded the people of Israel to “Consider your ways” in Haggai 1:5, the context is about the rebuilding the house of the Lord; God asks the people this “Is it a time for you yourselves to dwell in your paneled houses, while this house lies in ruins?” [v4]

How can I possibly be sowing much, laboring to build my paneled house, and pursue everything I like at the expense of my devotion? Do I selfishly pursue time-consuming things while my relationship with God is in shambles? (ref. Haggai 1:9)

Devotion to God is most important. And it is a lesson that I struggled to uphold. So, whether you take on responsibilities or focus on particular duties, do it so that God “can take pleasure in it and that [He] may be glorified.” (ref. Haggai 1:7)

+Michael K

Leave a Reply

