Hmm…

People get mopy late at night.

If I collect all my emotional entries and checked the time of day that is posted,… generally, I wouldn’t be surprised if they happen to be posted later at night.

There’s definitely something about the lateness of the post-midnight hours that makes people mopier. For one, we are forcing our body to go past its circadian rhythm, thus accumulating a greater toll of sleep debt for the body; with this in mind, [hah, hope u caught that ;] emotions can be harder to control πŸ™‚

Right now, I am happily blogging away at Geisel Library, with brightly-lit rooms and brightly-lit faces around me πŸ™‚

However, in 12 hours, the environment changes and becomes a lot darker; lights shut off, people gets sleepy, rabbits come running about [late at night ;], and the air gets cooler all around us.
how often does our internal environment reflects the outside?

Not that having deep, emotional entries is a bad thing at all; in fact, I would call it “art-mode”!

friend: Hey, are you sad?
me: No! I’m in art-mode! πŸ˜‰

For me, it’s easier to hide in the guise of daylight to tuck away unkempt feelings inside.
But I do need to address these tucked-away pain and fight it head on. Knowing myself and my natural demeanor, a person with my type of personality will suffer bouts of depression & malaise.

A famous preacher, Charles Spurgeon, is a man that I resonate quite deeply. This man is someone who is called the “Prince of Preacher”, someone who’s truly a veteran of ministry. When he lived, Charles suffered through gout, which eventually proved to be fatal for him. There would be many instances when Charles Spurgeon would be at the cusp of despair,… Truly, he does mean this when he quotes “Beware of no man more than of yourself; we carry our worst enemies within us.” Our own self contains every ammunition that can be used against us and to turn us to sin. Our own self knows us best and knows what to do to make us fall. For me, demeanor is always going to be a war that I’ll have to fight to the very hilt.
Thank God I can even fight πŸ™‚
Truly, it’s a miracle
to wake up
every day and in spite of hurt & sickness, to say
“This is the day that the Lord has made.
I will rejoice and be glad in it!”

Hmm…. More thoughts later. I got a pod to cast πŸ™‚
_Michael

Leave a Reply

