Lost

Photography by unsplash.com

One evening, I was looking for Catch.com

Over 3 years worth of sermon notes were stored in that website because my phone at the time was an Android (the Motorola Droid 1, to be exact). I used AK Notepad to take notes digitally, which synchronized with Catch.

I knew I should have backed up my files but I put it all off because once again it was 3 years worth of sermon notes to back up.

But there was a catch. I could not log in. In fact, I met this screen:

Then I found this link.

No word of warning. Just gone. All my content. Lost.

Nowadays I no longer rely on a single app. For note-taking, I returned to old-fashion granular pen-and-paper with my dayrunner journal.

But after writing, I take snapshots with Evernote’s Page Camera. It is saved in my Evernote, practically an extension of my cortex. With a simple keystroke and search away, I can dig up archived thoughts from years past.

Yet in the end, there is no such thing as a perfect one-size-fits-all system. The best productivity system is the one that gets out of your way and allows you to focus on what is at hand. My double-backed archiving method will only be as good as the archiver’s effort to review the material, remember why it was written down and crystallize the information to the mind.

If I had lost my journals and archives, I can always go back to what I have in my head and move forward.

One thought on “Lost

  1. I totally and completely agree with not depending on technology. Artifacts like a collection of personal notebooks are what we should leave behind.

    Awesome blog! It’s very refreshing and gives an inside scoop in your head :)

    xx,-t

Leave a Reply

